Age of Consent in New York: On Statutory Rape and its Punishments

Age of Consent in New York: On Statutory Rape and its Punishments

Originally published on Sept 22, 2020

Under the law, the age of consent refers to the age by which a person can legally consent to sexual intercourse. This usually varies per state.

In New York, the age of consent is 17 years old. This means that if you engage in sexual intercourse with anyone below 17, you’re essentially committing statutory rape – even if it’s consensual. Though the punishments vary depending on the circumstances, jail time is almost always a part of it.

What Constitutes Statutory Rape?

To protect minors from unknowingly consenting to sexual predators, statutory rape laws are created. They are based on the assumption that minors are not capable of giving informed consent to sexual activities.

In New York, statutory rape can be classified into several sexual abuse charges depending on the circumstances. Some of them are:

1. Second Degree Sexual Abuse

An offender commits second-degree sexual abuse when he/she engages in sexual contact with a victim who is:

  • below 14 years old
  • above 17 but is incapable of giving consent for any other reason.

2. First Degree Sexual Abuse

This is when sexual contact happens between:

  • a victim who is less than 13 years old and an offender who is 21 years old or older;
  • an offender of any age and a victim who is less than 11 years old;
  • the victim is physically helpless;
  • the offender threatened or physically forced the victim to engage in a sexual activity

3. Second Degree Rape

A sexual relationship can be considered second-degree rape when:

  • the offender is 18 years or older while the victim is less than 15 years old;
  • when the victim is incapable of consent because he or she is mentally disabled or mentally incapacitated

4. First-degree rape

If any of the following circumstances are true, the crime is considered first-degree rape:

  • the offender is 18 years and older while the victim is under 13 years old;
  • when the victim, who is physically helpless

5. Predatory Sexual Assault Against a Child

A person is guilty of this charge if he/she is at least 18 years old and has committed the following crimes to a victim who is younger than 13:

  • first-degree rape
  • first-degree criminal sexual act
  • first degree aggravated sexual abuse

6. Third Degree Criminal Sexual Act

This happens when the offender who is 21 years old or more engages in oral or anal sexual conduct with someone below 17 years old.

7. Second Degree Criminal Sexual Act

When an offender who is at least 18 engages in oral or anal sexual conduct with someone who is under 15 years old, they can be charged with this crime.

8. First Degree Criminal Sexual Act

This crime happens when:

  • the offender (of any age) engages in an anal or oral sexual act with a child below 11 years old;
  • the offender who is 18 years old and above engages in an anal or oral sexual act with anyone below 13.

9. Third Degree Aggravated Sexual Abuse

A person commits third-degree aggravated sexual abuse when he/she inserts a foreign object into another’s vagina, urethra, penis, rectum, or anus, causing physical injury to such person, and the person is

  • incapable of consent due to mental disability or mental incapacity
  • below 11 years old
  • physically helpless

10. Second Degree Aggravated Sexual Abuse

A person is guilty of this crime when he/she inserts a finger into another’s vagina, urethra, penis, rectum, or anus, causing physical injury to such person and the victim is:

  • less than 11 years old
  • physically helpless
A child who is below the age of consent in New York cowers before her abuser.

Punishments

Each of the above sexual abuse charges carries a penalty depending on its severity.

Class A Misdemeanor

Charges: second-degree sexual abuse

Punishment: up to 1 year in prison

Class D Felony

Charges: second-degree rape, first-degree sexual abuse, second-degree criminal sexual act, third-degree aggravated sexual abuse

Punishment: maximum of 7 years in jail

Class C Felony

Charges: second degree aggravated sexual abuse

Punishment: prison term of not more than 15 years

Class B Felony

Charges: first degree aggravated sexual abuse, first-degree criminal sexual act, first-degree rape

Punishment: 5-25 years in jail

Class A-II Felony

Charges: predatory sexual assault against a child

Punishment: at least 25 years in prison

REDUCE YOUR JAIL CALL COSTS BY 90%

GlobalTel’s inmate calling service lowers jail call rates by 90% for jail calls to US facilities. Sign up for our service to eliminate the long distance jail call fees for $45.99 for 90 days. Make US/domestic and international jail calls at the local rate and stay connected to your incarcerated loved ones for less. Learn more about how to sign up for calls from inmates on our website.

Judy Ponio an author for GlobalTel

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Judy Ponio is a firm believer in the power of sharing knowledge. Having extensive experience in the prison industry, she wants to share what she knows with the world. Judy also loves to write about political and legal topics.

About JailAid Inmate Services

JailAid is an organization committed to aiding the least privileged of our society. We offer helpful advice to inmates and their families through our website and blog. Get to know us by contacting us today.